Paper Clay Floral Headpiece

Following on from last week’s post on my paper clay experiments, I thought I’d show you what my first finished design looks like.

My initial intention was to stick to an all-white palette and keep things simple.  Two things that I struggle to do.  It didn’t take long before I decided that an all-white / shades of white palette just wasn’t going to work at all and as soon as I added some little brass leaves, the whole feel changed completely and the contrast between the flat off white of the clay and the soft gold of the leaves just seemed to work.  I also used both gold and silver together – I love mixed metals and the silver seems to soften the gold tones and reduce the ‘brassiness’ of the brass whilst the gold slightly warms up the silver.  I’m a big fan of mixed metals.  Plus it makes things more versatile.  I’ve also used white opal crystals, Swarovski ivory glass pearls which are a wonderful non pearlescent cream colour (I love them and use them loads), a few Swarovski cream pearls for contrast and tiny size 15 Miyuki Delica seed beads in matt linen.

The clay flowers were surprisingly robust and stood up to all the twisting and wiring that I put them through without a hint of complaint. I’m quite pleased with this first design but I think I’ll try to keep the next one a bit more simplistic and minimalist – now, that will be a challenge!

Processed with MOLDIV
Witing the paper clay flowers to make a hair comb
Paper clay and gold leaf comb
The finished headpiece – just needs a name now….
Leave a Reply

