The Beginnings of a New Collection

There are lots of things happening behind the scenes at the moment and I’ve decided to re-brand Vintage Button.  It’s been something I’ve been wanting to do for a very long time but for lots of reasons (including a lot of procrastinating) I haven’t managed to find the time to get started or really know where to begin.  I’ve enlisted the help of a friend and expert and I’ve made a start so changes are starting to happen.  This is the first time I’ve spoken about my re-brand so I’m feeling quite nervous but also a tiny bit excited.  More to come on this as things start to happen…..

In the meantime, I have been working on creating a new collection of designs that are going to be rather special.  I love literature, history and a good story so I’m always fascinated with how things come to be made and the stories and inspiration behind them and with my designs, I hope to create beautiful heirlooms that carry meaning and become part of someones story to pass on to loved ones.  A big hope but in an age of mass produced, machine made products, I want to offer another choice and celebrate artisan skills and talent and rediscover near forgotten hand made techniques.

So with all this in mind, I’ve been reading up on the stories and histories of bridal headdresses and adornments throughout the ages and have decided to make my own little collection of one-off heirloom pieces.  I’m going to call it ‘Laurel and Myrtle’ inspired by Ancient Greek floral and foliage crowns and garlands and by the Victorian and European tradition of the Myrtle headpiece.   Each design will be completely unique and the only one I will make and I hope they will bring much happiness to their wearer and become part of their story.

The first headpiece is very nearly ready – the bead work is complete and all that remains is to wrap the handmade copper headband in soft silk ribbons.  I’ve called her Iris, she’s made in soft shades of green, ivory, grey and silver.  She is inspired by the Spring with new flowers and plants bursting into life and I think I will make a small matching corsage to go with her in the tradition of the Myrtle tiaras from the late 1800’s.  Here’s a little look at Iris coming to life.

I’ll be writing another post about how this collection came about and the new pieces as they happen and there will be a whole lot more about my re-branding as it gets going including a re-imagining of my much loved Vintage Button logo but for now, I hope you like Iris.

image
The very start…….
image
Building up the bead and wire work
image
Not the best photo but Iris could also be worn as a statement necklace
Iris crown
The beadwork is complete, just the silk ribbons to add now….

 

Leave a Reply

