White

I love to work with colour.  So much so that I have another range of jewellery called Colour Designs – totally different to my wedding work, it’s minimalist and, oddly enough, it’s all about colour.  My obsession with colour is nearly always present in my bridal accessories too as I love to incorporate as many soft, subtle shades into my pieces.  I’ll spend ages trying to find the exact, perfect shade of dove grey or blush pink and have the biggest collection of beads, crystals, pearls, lace, silk in every colour imaginable.  Don’t even get me started on Pantone charts.

I do love a challenge though and every now and again, I’ll try to force myself to stick to one colour palette – usually, these challenges fail as I can’t resist adding a tiny bit of colour, even if you can barely see it, it’s there. So, after finding a few old mother or pearl antique necklaces in several states of disrepair, I thought I’d try the ‘all white’ challenge again.

I do have a bit of a weakness for antique mother of pearl – it’s such a beautiful colour and has the softest, most subtle sheen as the light catches it.  It’s timeless and elegant and I use it a lot.  I think all of my designs are influenced by flowers and foliage in some way or another so the old necklaces, featuring delicately carved leaves were perfect.

So far, I have managed to stick to the plan and I’ve really enjoyed using slightly different shades and textures of white to create a couple of new pieces.  I’ve combined the vintage mother or pearl leaves with some carved flowers and my favourite Swarovski glass pearls in ivory and tiny Swarovski crystals in White Opal.   Here’s a look at a couple of hair pins and a comb that I’ve made so far in silver, there’s a few more to come and I’ll be sticking to white for those too but I’m going to try them with gold wire.  The silver versions are available on my website.

antique-mother-of-pearl-necklace
Antique Mother of Pearl Carved Leaf Necklace
Processed with MOLDIV
Gardenia Vintage Leaf Comb and Hair Pin in Silver
Processed with MOLDIV
Magnolia Vintage Leaf Hair Pin in Silver
Processed with MOLDIV
Gardenia Vintage Leaf Comb in Silver (photo by OXI Photography)
Processed with MOLDIV
Gardenia Vintage Leaf Hair Pin in Silver (photo by OXI Photography)
2 thoughts on “White

Leave a Reply

