My First Styled Shoot

This week, I organised my first proper styled shoot; I’ve taken part in several shoots before and I’ve sent off lots of my headdresses to be used in styled shoots but I haven’t ever organised one myself.  I hadn’t really intended to go for a full styled shoot; my initial intention was to get some really lovely model shots of my headdresses for my website but as I got going, I thought it would be great if I could involve some other people’s work too and it would be really good experience to see if I could actually do this.

So on Monday 27th February, armed with the biggest pile of ivy, a box of silk ribbons, loads of accessories and a bucket of flowers, I set to work transforming the gallery of The Silk Mill in Frome.  I had painstackingly cut out lots of pretty, faded pastel coloured flowers from a roll of wallpaper and my plan was to create a pretty backdrop of flowers creeping up the wall.

My studio is in The Silk Mill in Frome and downstairs, there is a wonderful, light and airy space with whitewashed walls that is used for galleries, exhibitions, weddings etc.  I had used this space for a product photoshoot last year so I knew that I wanted to use this venue for my shoot.  I wanted to create a soft, blush coloured shoot with a feeling of old fashioned, slightly faded vintage elegance but with a modern edge.  A lot of my designs are inspired by times past and I often use vintage materials but I wanted to create a more contemporary look with lots of foliage and greenery.

I have worked with fine art photographer Oxana Mazur of OXI Photography on several projects and love her work so I knew that I wanted her to be the photographer for my shoot.  Oxana manages to capture all the little details and creates the most beautiful images and I have long been an admirer of her work.  I recently worked on one of her shoots with Sian Hall as the model – Sian is a dancer and photographer herself and I really hoped that she would model for me on my shoot.

With Oxana and Sian on board, I then approached stationery designer Rosie Barrett of The Tiny Card Company.  Rosie creates the most beautiful stationery and her latest Secret Garden Collection includes delicate floral and ivy designs and gorgeous calligraphy in soft pastels and metallic inks so I thought they would be perfect.  For hair and make-up, I wanted to go for two different hair styles (a modern take on the ballet bun and a loose, braided vintage inspired style) with soft make-up, nothing too heavy.  I’ve been following the work of hair and make-up artist Charlotte Tillyer on Instagram for some time now after finding her on The Fine Art Wedding Boutique so I really hoped that she would like to be part of the shoot too.

As Sian is a dancer, I really wanted her to be able to move around on the shoot so thought I’d try two different styles of dress.  In keeping with the current trend for bridal separates, I bought a gorgeous blush pink tulle maxi skirt from ASOS and an antique lace cropped top from vintage shop Lark in Frome – as these were my items, I didn’t have to worry about any possible damage happening to the tulle as Sian danced around the gallery!  For the other look, I borrowed the most beautiful vintage lace 1930’s style bias cut dress made by the talented Mari Hughes of Sow’s Ear.  This elegant dress worked perfectly with my headpieces.

Finally, I had a gorgeous, foliage filled bunch of flowers from Frome florists Bramble and Wild and a button bouquet of mine that I filled with ivy, eucalyptus and silk ribbons.

So, on a wet, windy and grey February day, a lovely little team of us set about creating some really pretty images. The day itself was really enjoyable and I had the best team of people to work with and I can’t thank them enough for all of their help.  I cannot wait to see the results and I’ve now got a whole heap of ideas for future shoots!

Here’s a few behind the scenes photos of what we got up to on the day.

Processed with MOLDIV
OXI Photography in action and stationery by The Tiny Card Company
Processed with MOLDIV
Me blutaking flowers to the wall! OXI Photography in action and the ivy backdrop and bouquet
Processed with MOLDIV
Charlotte Tillyer working her magic on Sian
Leave a Reply

